What kind of covers and description do you like? u.u

I mean, when your looking for new stories to read what kind of covers and descriptions make you say “I want to read this story.” or which one make you say “Nope”?

I’m not asking because I’m not good at choosing those, nooooooo

1 Like

It isn’t really the covers that turn me away, it’s defo the description! I know that English isn’t everyone’s first language but when I have to fill multiple gaps in only the description for it to make sense then it’ll turn me away. I came to read, not to play guess the word :confused: This one author had her story proofread by multiple people and yet it still had mistakes :woman_shrugging:

2 Likes

Yes I can agree with you. English is not my first language and I find it very difficult to understand when there are spelling errors.

1 Like

I look at the covers and decide whether it would be the type of story i’d like to read, like bold colours or dark colours and whether it’s romance or horror… you need to make that clear in the cover and then finish luring us in with a mysterious description. I totally agree with @jess2112 about spelling errors it just ruins the affect of the story by making us need to figure every second word out and reword sentences (gramma too).

3 Likes

You mean like the description makes you think that the story is a mystery but it isn’t?

1 Like

Sort of… its like throwing us a clue about the story just enough to allow us to imagine if we would like it

1 Like

So you like description that- well- really describe the story. Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sorry for my lack of being able to describe stuff but yeh

1 Like

When I see covers with half naked characters or summaries that just describe how hot the characters are that’s a big nope for me.

5 Likes

The word limit for description is hella short. I struggle so much to put everything together. I want to complete the sentences, but I can’t for the word limits.

5 Likes