What makes a good ending?

Hey! I’m a writer and I would love anyone’s input on this question:
What makes a good vs. bad ending?

I know I’ve read and watched SOO many things that often leave audiences feeling dissatisfied or detached from the rest of the story because of the ending, and I just want to know others’ opinions on what a good ending is vs. a bad ending.

Is it the type of ending? (Sad, Happy, Bittersweet, etc.)
Is it the pacing? (Not wanting the ending to be rushed)
Do you like when stories have an epilogue that shows what happens years later?
Do you like when the author ends with a new beginning/ adventure?
Do you like open-ended endings that are left for interpretation?

Please lmk all your thoughts! :pray: :pleading_face:

6 Likes

I honestly don’t care about the specifics of an ending, as long as it makes sense to the story. Not every story has to have a happy ending, but if a story is really happy and then it crashes in the end it would be disappointing, and vice versa

6 Likes
  • Ties lose ends of the plot
  • Provokes an emotion for the reader (happiness for the characters getting their happy ending/ proud of their character development/ breaking their hearts and making it hard for them to recover if it is a sad ending ex The Dragon Bride by Earlgrey Tea).
6 Likes

A good ending: relevant to the story itself, possibly answers unanswered questions, a steady pace.

A bad ending: rushed, feels random, doesn’t seem relevant to the story.

I also like when the author inserts themself into the story end as a character, whether it’s to thank the reader or give credits to backgrounds/overlays used from others as it feels more personal in my opinion. I especially like when they tease the reader that the story may not have truly ended, if there’s a sequel and/or prequel planned.

4 Likes

What makes a good ending:

• The main conflict or problem is resolved and we’re given closure
  • Characters should show some level of growth or change by the end