What Makes A Story Good?

Hey guys! How are ya’ll doing today? I’m just here with one simple question:
What Makes A Story Good?
Sometimes, I find stories that easily draw you in, like Maid For You, or Dead 7, or any story you can come up with that is actually AMAZINGLY good. How is it possible though? Is the author trying to stretch the ending somehow so you crave for more? Does the author add more “personal” choices in the story to make you feel happier? Currently, I’m a struggling author on Episode, so if you’d be nice enough to help me out, please do!
Comment down below what you guys like about your favorite stories, and it’ll help a lot to not only me, but to other authors reading this.
Thank you all!

• Dasha
4 Likes

Moved to Episode Fan Community! Carry on :v:t2:

Hi Dasha,

I would strongly recommend to write a proper outline of your story before starting to actually write it. Think about what it is about, where it will lead, what the main motive is and what the characters are like. What makes your MC laugh? What makes them cry? What are their biggest fears? The more a reader can relate to a character or is moved by them, the more they will be drawn in by your story.

Also, ask yourself what the main events will be. What will be a turning point for your characters? Where will the reader feel their heartbeat rise or tear up with your character or maybe even want to scream at them?

I always start by writing down the main idea and plot the beginning, highlight and resolution. That mainly means: Where do they start? What is their challenge? How do they solve it? Then I develop my characters and their main events which will lead them to change and develop.

Only then comes the actual writing of dialogue and narration, maybe the planning of the choices etc.

Of course this strongly depends on the kind of story you write. But the basics stay the same. The most important tip I can give: Know where your story goes and don’t rush anything.

I hope this helps!

Arrows