What makes you interested in Episode's author Instagram?

Hi, so I’ve recently been thinking about Instagram and how it can help the writer with promoting their story. Personally, I’ve been struggling with my own account for a few months now. It seems to be stuck a little above 300 followers and I struggle even more with getting my community involved. I often ask myself what am I doing wrong since I try to post sneak peeks on my page/stories, I share my art, etc. That’s what seems like other authors are doing? And I also know it’s not all about hashtags since Instagram changed its algorithm so let me ask you this:

1. What makes you follow an Episode author on Instagram?
  2. If you follow a given author on Instagram, what would do you like for them to post? (aka, what you find interesting)

Thank you in advance for all your help on that matter :revolving_hearts:I appreciate it!

1 Like

Hey, I’ve been an author here with an Episode/Writing Instagram for around 2 years so I might be able to help some.

For starters, it’s important to understand that Instagram as a platform is finicky at best. At least for me, the app seems h*ll bent on only showing my posts to certain people, won’t show my posts to most of my audience, and seems to almost “punish” me if I post too little, not enough, too much, etc. It’s all about finding balance I think, and I’m not 100% sure what that balance is.

As for what I post? Usually I post when episodes are out and then I’ll post a sneak peek or two depending on how long it’s taking between episodes (I try to update weekly if I can).

Utilize stories! Use countdowns for episode releases, share your posts there, have q&a sessions, do polls, etc. All that stuff keeps your readers engaged and shows the app you’ve got an active audience.