Writing a story and in need of help!

Okay so here’s the deal. I’ve been reading the forum for a little while now to get help on writing a new story because I’m an aspiring writer and have always been told I should pursue it. Since a lot of short story contests around my area are done, I figured I should write an episode story because I’ve been using Episode since I was, like, 8? So yeah. That’s enough for the intro, though.

The plot of this story is taken from a short story I have already wrote. I’m thinking of making a story with a male main character (and I could also receive a male perspective since I have many male friends and a boyfriend, so that’s a huge plus). The male main character is in love with this girl and the girl is going to get married to his best friend. The girl and the male MC have dated before, but things have changed over time so they broke up and I plan on adding a lot of drama between it all. I’m not sure how to end the story off, though. I know not many people appreciate a sad ending but that’s what my original story ends with. So ultimately, here’s my questions.

1. How does the plot look so far? Give me your honest opinion. Add things on that you think will help. I want to pour my soul into this.

2. Is a male main character ideal? Should I switch it up and make the MC a girl?

3. How do you feel about a sad ending? Would it be preferable to have a happier ending or a sad one?

4. What would be the preferable art style? (Ink, Limelight, etc.)

5. What’re your guys’ likes and dislikes in an Episode story? (Length of a story, customization, etc).

6. From my experienced writers, is there any advice you’d like to give me before I start?

Thank you guys!!

1 Like

here’s what I think

1. How does the plot look so far? Give me your honest opinion. Add things on that you think will help. I want to pour my soul into this.: I think this sounds really interesting and I don’t mind a sad ending. I would definitely read this story.