Writing just for your readers

Hello everyone! While I’m taking a quick break from writing, I was wondering if anyone else feels the same about this topic?

This came up in one of my instagram posts where a reader of mine has been following me since the beginning (and I’ve been writing on Episode for over 3 years :wink:)

I know there are a lot of writers out there who enjoy writing, and they also have many supportive fans.

So my question to you writers is:

“Do you write what you want to write for your loyal readers, or do you only write just to gain popularity by writing something you don’t want to write?”

9 Likes

as much as i would love to be popular on episode, i do it for my loyal readers lol or what will be my loyal readers. if you’re not writing things you love and not for the people who think with your work then why are you writing to begin with?

4 Likes

I am a new writer but I am making it my quota to write stories for my readers and for myself. No popularity needed. I just want people to relate and enjoy my imagination!

3 Likes

I haven’t published a story yet but I am working on one. I think that it’s important to write what you want to write not just what’s popular. Most popular tropes are problematic, for example, Mafia, bad boy or teacher-student romances. For that reason I tend to just write what I want. The story I’m working on is action and will only have a little bit of romance. I know that I’m probably not going to get as many reads as the authors writing romance stories but I don’t really mind. I’m just happy writing what I want to and seeing my idea become a reality😌

5 Likes

I am a new writer…and I dont think that I have any loyal reader yet…but there is a hope that i will get loyal reader or maybe readers one day…who will support me :relaxed:
I am writing for myself bcz I love to write

1 Like