Advice needed! | Random art commission question!

:red_light: DISCLAIMER: This is so hate to the artist at all, she is a lovely person who does great art! I just need some advice.

Hey! I have recently been in touch with an artist who does commissions, and we have discussed all the details of the piece! I told her that my PayPal money has been processing, and she told that it’s fine! (It has come through now, but I have not paid her anything.) Keep in mind, this is my first time commissioning art!

3 days ago I was messaging her discussing some of the details of the art, and she stopped replying for a few hours, later that day my PayPal money had came through and I told her that, but still no reply! The next day, I checked her profile and her bio had changed to commissions closed. I sent her a message saying “Hey, I’ve seen your commissions have been closed, I was wondering if you will still be taking mine, or if I should find another artist… etc” I didn’t get a reply all day and I just thought it was because of our different time zones, and I’ve woken up without a reply!

Do you think I should find a new artist, or wait for the one I have already messaged, this is my first time so I have no idea what to do in this situation.

2 Likes

Well, it is suspicious, but give it a day or 2. If she doesn’t reply, you can expose her and ask for refund as it would count as scam if she takes money but doesn’t answer.
BUT you can make a backup plan and search for a new artist, just to be safe.

2 Likes

I haven’t paid her any money yet, since she hasn’t replied to my messages, but thank you for the advice!

1 Like

Yeah, I was about to ask if “I told her that my PayPal money has been processing, and she told that it’s fine! (It has come through now)” was paying her or just getting money to your paypal - I know if you use card/bank way you have to wait few days; if you use trustly then it’s within a minute on your account.