How do you feel about using AI to create backgrounds and Overlays?

So I’ve recently gotten back into writing (coding) on episode and I’m at the point where I realized I don’t have backgrounds that fit the theme of my story. I am not an artist by any means, but I am a digital editor. I’ve dabbled with AI for work purposes and found that it can be very helpful. I typically make all my background and overlays by hand from royalty free stock images. But I wanted to get other people’s opinions on the topic. Do you think it’s okay to use AI generated images for backgrounds and overlays?

6 Likes

Try searching other threads about this topic, as it comes up often. You’ll see that people have different opinions on it and ultimately you should go with your gut feeling/ educated opinion.

Personally, I use AI for more and more things, both creative and work-related.

2 Likes

I think most people have issues with the ethical side of AI programs (there are so many) and most available programs steal/learn their styles from actual artists’ work without attribution or payment. There are ethical programs that exist though - so I think as long as you use an ethical AI program and let people know that it is AI-generated (I’ve seen people tag them with a specific emoji to indicate AI usage) people won’t have as much of an opinion.

It’s my opinion that, if you want to use AI, you have every right to use it. :slight_smile: People may not like it and others might ask how you did it, but it is your story so do what you want.

1 Like

I did do some searching on this topic but all of those threads I saw were closed, so I figured I’d start another and get some fresh voices in.

I also use AI to refine my images as sometimes it’s faster than doing it myself.

That is true. I’ve done all of those things at least one for work purposes. It’s a great tool.