Feeling defeated

Hey everyone,

So I can’t be the only one feeling this. And I know I really sound whiny and pathetic and self-entitled, but if I can’t express how I feel, what can I do?

I’m a small-ish community author whose story has been out for over a year and a half… Six plus hours working on Episode stories every single day, no joke. I’ve lost time with now deceased pets because I’ve been so focused on writing (my fault, no one else’s), gave up work days just to finish a scene on time. The dedication probably is overboard, but it’s the only way I can get my story out.

Today I was hoping they’d finally select it for the shelf it was nominated to (tbh, it was the perfect fit) by a lot of people, but once again… it wasn’t. It’s not the first time it’s happened, and the same goes with my contest entry not even being read.

I know not everyone can be featured, but how do you deal with the continuous disappointment, especially when newer stories are often featured? (Not saying they’re not amazing in their own right; I’m sure they are and as much as I’m heartbroken, I’m pleased at least someone gets to be happy and acknowledged). Is there a formula they use? Do authors get blacklisted for hidden reasons or something?

I feel like I’m at breaking point right now, and yes, as pathetic as this sounds, I have been reduced to tears, yet again–no joke, I’m a red mess right now. But I don’t know what to do to get Episode to finally acknowledge my story. It’s not toxic, the directing is advanced (not perfect, but not horrible if I may say so), and the grammar is good. Unless my readers are just trying to pick me up, the plot is actually interesting and original, too, when it doesn’t have bits taken by other authors.

Am I the only one out here who feels like this? Surely I can’t be. Will Episode actually listen to authors who are literally begging to be seen? What can we do?