The no love interest option

As an aroace, I usually pick the no romance option, if it’s available. But it makes you miss out on a lot. A lot of character interaction, and general character development is all tied to romance, which is so so annoying. I love The Infected because it replaces all the romance scenes with friendship and it’s just as enjoyable, if not more so.
If you’re going to include a no romance option, please consider replacing romance with friendship

Edit: Flunkers Club’ by Zara Jay is also an example of this

Also recommendations are appreciated! Don’t be shy to self promote

25 Likes

It’s kinda sad that almost every story has a romance option, even if it’s not under the romance category. As a writer, I honestly don’t think about this, so thank you for bringing awareness to it.

14 Likes

Exactly!! You read a horror story and the MC is more worried about which love interest to choose, :sob: who tf cares about her potential gruesome death because she certainly doesn’t

13 Likes

Right :sob: and it’s actually funny that you mentioned the Infected bc I’m rereading it at the moment. The author did a great job.

6 Likes

I’ve only read it once but it was an instant favourite. I got so sad when I realised it was an old story and wouldn’t be updated anymore : (

3 Likes

Moved to Episode Fan Community. Make sure to check out our Forum Tutorial for more info about creating topics, and feel free to PM me if you’ve got questions. :smiley: