Trouble with remembering past choices

Hey, I’m new to creating stories and have been browsing the forums for help with any issues, but I can’t seem to fix this problem.
I created a dressing game with 4 choices and in a later scene, I needed to remember what choice was chosen. I have used the if, elif and else and no errors show but when I do a rerun of my story, it always changes the character to the last outfit choice I’ve added. Here is the code I have used for the dressing game and the later code for remembering:

label dressinggame
speechbubble reset
CRYSTAL (think)
(I’d like to wear…)
choice (PJ1)
“Cupcake Mania”{
CRYSTAL previews outfit PJ1
CRYSTAL is curtsey
pause for a beat
CRYSTAL starts idle
CRYSTAL (idle_arms_crossed)
(This is so sweet!)
choice
“Wear this!” {
CRYSTAL changes into PJ1
gain PJ1
goto afterdg1
} “I’ll try something else.” {
CRYSTAL unpreviews outfit PJ1
goto dressinggame
}}“Pinky Power”{
CRYSTAL previews outfit PJ2
CRYSTAL is curtsey
pause for a beat
(We are talking major pinky power!)
choice
“Wear this!” {
CRYSTAL changes into PJ2
gain PJ2
goto afterdg1
}“I’ll try something else”{
CRYSTAL unpreviews outfit PJ2
CRYSTAL starts idle_arms_crossed
goto dressinggame
}}“Mesh Leopard”{
CRYSTAL previews outfit PJ3
CRYSTAL is curtsey
pause for a beat
CRYSTAL starts idle
(I feel as fierce as a leopard!)
choice
“Wear this!” {
CRYSTAL changes into PJ3
gain PJ3
goto afterdg1
}“I’ll try something else.”{
CRYSTAL unpreviews outfit PJ3
CRYSTAL starts idle_arms_crossed
goto dressinggame
}}“Wild in White”{
CRYSTAL previews outfit PJ4
CRYSTAL is curtsey
pause for a beat
(I feel wickedly wild in white!)
choice
“Wear this!” {
CRYSTAL changes into PJ4
gain PJ4
goto afterdg1
}“I’ll try something else”{
CRYSTAL unpreviews outfit PJ4
goto dressinggame
}}
label afterdg1
CRYSTAL starts idle_happy

And here is the code for remembering the choice:

if (dressinggame is “Cupcake Mania”) {
CRYSTAL changes into PJ1
} elif (dressinggame is “Pinky Power”) {